Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 3rd, 2010

Thanks to my former colleagues at the American Press Institute for allowing me to republish the 2008 Newspaper Next report I wrote for API: Be the Answer: Using interactive databases to provide answers and generate revenue.

Databases are a tool news organizations can use effectively (and don’t use often enough) to tell stories and provide answers for their communities, as well as to develop new revenue streams.

Some of the links in this report, which was published in December 2008, may no longer be active. But I still think the advice published here is some of the best I have ever given. I believe a news organization that follows the strategy outlined here will develop new revenue streams and profoundly deepen its relationship with its community.

I have also presented workshops on using interactive databases as described in this report. Contact me if you would like to arrange a workshop.

API also publishes other reports on issues in the news business.

Read Full Post »