Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 18th, 2009

This list of resources was initially published on my blog in September 2009. I have added some links but have not checked to remove any outdated links.

I will be leading a discussion on journalism ethics in November for the American Society of News Editors and the Reynolds Journalism Institute. It will be part of the ASNE Ethics and Values Forum.

ASNE Ethics and Values Chair Mike Fancher is compiling a reading list for participants and asked me to submit some of my writings about journalism ethics issues. After passing the links on to Mike, I thought they might have interest to a wider audience. So here are links to my own writing on journalism ethics, followed by valuable resources on ethics from other sources: (more…)

Read Full Post »

This is another quick post to call attention to work that I might comment on later. Nieman Reports has published views from lots of people in the news business on the role of social media in journalism (and some other topics). I was a contributor. I haven’t had a chance to read the full Nieman Reports and might comment after I have (or might comment on individual pieces as I’m reading it). But that may take me some time, so I wanted to call attention to it while it’s fresh.

Read Full Post »

I was pleased to participate in Thursday’s Midwest Newspaper Summit in Dubuque.

Sometime this weekend, I will blog some reflections on the various presentations and panels from the summit. But for now, I want to praise Jo Martin and Jennifer Asa of the Iowa Newspaper Foundation for planning and presenting a strong program. You can read more at the newspaper evolution site or on my Twitter feed.

Read Full Post »