Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 9th, 2011

I discussed community engagement in a workshop at the York Daily Record today. Thanks to Buffy Andrews for compiling tweets about the workshop into a Storify account.

Here are my slides for the workshop:

 

Read Full Post »

Grammar matters

Even professional writers have difficulty with some grammar points. Grammar matters in any writing format, including tweets and other social platforms. I won’t try to cover everything here, but I’ll pass along some tricks to help with some of the most common grammar challenges I’ve seen trip up journalists:

Who and whom

A general rule is to use who as the subject of a verb or the person who is doing the action of a verb. Otherwise, use whom. (Same with whoever and whomever). (more…)

Read Full Post »