Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 4th, 2011

I had some sharp criticism yesterday of Bill Reader, an Ohio University professor, who criticized TBD.com in a blog post.

Now I will praise Bill as someone who receives criticism thoughtfully and engages in positive discussion. While my criticism was sharp, it was not personal. Bill did not take it personally. He corrected some errors in his initial post and engaged me in discussion of the broader issues. While he has not corrected the premise with which I took issue, he has written a response, Additional thoughts on TBD, that grew from our discussion in emails, our blogs and blog comments. The response elaborates on his original points.

I agree fully with the respect he expressed for the TBD team. My colleagues at TBD are indeed, as Bill said, talented and hard-working journalists. I encourage other organizations to hire them quickly.

On some other points in this most recent post, I do not agree with Bill, but I don’t care to air those disagreements. This time, I respect his opinions and I’m quite comfortable letting him have the last word.

Read Full Post »